16929 Frances Street, Suite 203 Omaha, NE 68130
www.nebrcul.org | 402.333.9331 | 800.950.4455

Nebraska voters, thirty-two percent of them, went to the polls yesterday to select their respective party’s nominees for the general election and decide who will advance in non-partisan races. The General Election will be held on Tuesday, November 10th. There will be a Special Election in the 1st Congressional District on June 28th to fill the seat vacated by former Congressman Jeff Fortenberry who resigned on March 31st.




  • Republican Side: The top 3 candidates all had a real chance to win but, in the end, Jim Pillen wins the nomination defeating Trump endorsed candidate Charles Herbster and State Senator Brett Lindstrom. This was likely the most brutal primary held for this office in the Republican Party with more than $1.6 in negative ads.
  • Democrat Side: State Senator Carol Blood easily won her party’s nomination.
  • Libertarians nominate Scott Zimmerman.

Secretary of State

  • Incumbent Bob Evnen held off Robert Borer to win his party’s nomination for re-election.
  • Democrats did not have a candidate.


  • Incumbent John Murante won his party’s bid for re-election.
  • Democrats did not have a candidate.
  • Libertarians nominate Katrina Tomsen.

Attorney General

  • Legislature Speaker Mike Hilgers handily wins his party’s nomination.
  • Democrats did not have a candidate.


  • Governor Mike Foley wins his party’s nomination to return to as Auditor.
  • Democrats did not have a candidate.
  • Libertarian’s nominated Gene Siadek. Gene is a former Omaha area credit union board member.

Congressional District 1

  • Democrat Side: State Senator Patty-Pansing Brooks is the party’s nominee for the Special and the General Elections.
  • Republican Side: State Senator Mike Flood is the party’s nominee for the Special and the General Elections.
    • Republicans hold a 62,000-voter advantage over the Democrats but there are 95,000 non-partisan (Independent) voters.

District 2

  • Republican Side: Incumbent Don Bacon will vie for his fourth term as CD 2 Congressman.
  • Democrat Side: State Senator Tony Vargas won his party’s nomination.
    • There were 64,223 Republican ballots cast and 41,191 Democrat ballots cast. In CD 2, Republicans have just a 4,000-voter advantage and there are 100,000 non-partisan (Independent) voters. Therefore CD 2 is traditionally very competitive between the two major parties.

District 3

  • Democrat Side: David Else won his party’s nomination.
  • Republican Side: Incumbent Adrian Smith sailed through to seek re-election as CD 3 Congressman.
    • If you look at the votes cast in CD 3, there were 16,600 democrat votes compared to 117,420 Republican votes. Republicans have a 187,000-voter advantage over Democrats.


State Legislature *top vote winner listed first in each LD*

  • LD 2 – Incumbent Robert Clements v. Sarah Slattery (Syracuse)
  • LD 4 – Brad von Gillern v. Cindy Maxwell – Ostdiek (Northwest Omaha)
  • LD 6 – Incumbent Machaela Cavanaugh v. Christian Merch (Omaha)
  • LD 8 – Incumbent Megan Hunt v. Marilyn Asher (Midtown Omaha)
  • LD 10 – Incumbent Wendy DeBoer v. Lou Ann Goding (Northwest Douglas County)
  • LD 12 – Merv Riepe v. Robbin Richards (Ralston)
  • LD 14 – Incumbent John Arch v. Cori Villegas (Papillion)
  • LD 16 – Incumbent Ben Hansen v. Connie Petersen (Blaire)
  • LD 18 – Michael Young v. Christy Armendariz (Northcentral Omaha)
  • LD 20 – Stu Dornan v. John Fredrickson (Omaha)
  • LD 22 – Incumbent Mike Moser v. Roy Zach (Columbus)
  • LD 24 – Patrick Hotovy v. Jana Hughes (Seward)
  • LD 26 – Russ Barger v. George Dungan (Northeast Lincoln)
  • LD 28 – Jane Raybould v. Roy Christensen (Central Lincoln)
  • LD 30 – Incumbent Myron Dorn (unopposed) (Beatrice)
  • LD 32 – Incumbent Tom Brandt (unopposed) (Southeast Nebraska)
  • LD 34 – Loren Lippincott v. Michael Reimers (Central City)
  • LD 36 – Rick Holdcroft v. Angie Lauritsen (Gretna)
  • LD 38 – Incumbent Dave Murman v. Tyler Cappel (Southcentral Nebraska)
  • LD 40 – Barry DeKay v. Keith Kube (Northeast Nebraska)
  • LD 42 – Chris Bruns v. Incumbent Mike Jacobsen (North Platte)
  • LD 44 – Teresa Ibach v. Edward Dunn (Southwest Nebraska)
  • LD 46 – Danielle Conrad v. James Bowers (Northcentral Lincoln)
  • LD 48 – Brian Hardin v. Don Lease (Scottsbluff/Gering)


Click HERE for all more on the unofficial results