Primary Election Results







33.87% Jim Pillen

30.23% Charles Herbster

25.76%
Brett Lindstrom

2022 Nebraska Primary Unofficial Results

In exciting fashion, the Nebraska 2022 Primary Election came and went, but it was just the beginning, teeing up the rest of the campaign season. Overall, incumbents did well, and in open-seat state legislative races, it was generally close between the top two contenders.

Total turnout was approximately 32%. This was just under what was expected, but high compared to historic mid-term
elections. Many rural Nebraska counties still dominated in that category. The largest number of votes cast lines up closely with population demographics across Nebraska, with Douglas County at 101,373 votes cast and McPherson bringing in the lowest number at 167.

Primary Election Data

Voter Turnout

32%Projected 35%
396,228 voted
1,237,672 eligible voters

70%
Keya Paha County
Best Turnout
447 voted
637 eligible voters

14%
Thurston County
Lowest Turnout
601 voted
4301 eligible voters

Governor

Come November, Nebraskans will choose between University of Nebraska Regent Jim Pillen (R), State Senator Carol Blood (D), and Scott Zimmerman (L) for governor.

It was an extremely tight race for the Republican nomination for Governor, where major endorsements contrasted and lots of money flowed through all three of the top contenders' campaigns. We won't know for a little while the official campaign spending amounts.

Jim Pillen

33.87% 88,569 Votes

Counties Won 58

EndorsedGovernor Pete Ricketts

Raised (latest report) \$8M Cash on Hand \$1.5M

Charles Herbster

30.23% 79,068 Votes

Counties Won

EndorsedDonald Trump

Raised (latest report) \$11.5 Cash on Hand \$770K

Brett Lindstrom

25.76% 67,375 Votes

Counties Won

EndorsedMayor Jean Stothert, Omaha

Raised (latest report) \$2.5M Cash on Hand \$486K

U.S. House of Representatives - District 1



On June 28, and again in November, Nebraska voters will choose between state senators Mike Flood (R) and Patty Pansing Brooks (D) to represent Congressional District #1.



Mike Flood 58,599 Votes 73,73%

State Senator Mike Flood is in the middle of his state legislative term. If successful, Governor Ricketts would appoint someone to finish his term.



Patty Pansing Brooks 30,212 Votes 86.75%

State Senator Patty Pansing Brooks is term limited out of the Nebraska Legislature, so her seat is open and up for election this fall.

Voters will **vote twice on this duo** -- in a June 28 special election, necessary to fill former Congressman Jeff Fortenberry's seat for the remainder of his term, and in the November General Election.

Fortenberry actually came in second in the Republican primary with 9,512 votes, even though he withdrew from the election months ago. His name had not been removed from the ballot.

U.S. House of Representatives - District 2 and 3



The general election in <u>November</u> will see Congressman Don Bacon (R) versus State Senator Tony Vargas (D)



Congressman Don Bacon received the Republican primary nomination handedly winning 49,537 votes, his opponent received 14,686.



State Senator Tony Vargas secured the Democratic party nomination with 28,547 votes over his competitor who received 12,644.



Adrian Smith (R), David Else (D) and Legal Mark Elworth (Legal Marijuana Now) will spar for the 3rd Congressional district seat come November 2022.

In what was a primary race hardly anyone spoke about, Republican Congressman Adrian Smith again received his party's nomination with 89,258 votes and 76.02% of the vote.



Democrat David Else took home 8,707 votes to win his nomination and 52.26% of the vote.



And Legal Marijuana Party Now nominee Mark Elworth ran uncontested and received 125 votes.

1 NEBRASKA LEGISLATURE

Nebraska state legislative races are non-partisan. The top two contenders from the primary election will move forward to compete in the general election November 2022.

Twenty-four seats are up for election. Thirteen are open seats. The remaining have an incumbent running.

District 2	# of Votes	% <u>of</u> Vote
Incumbent Senator Robert Clements	5,057	54.14%
Sarah Slattery	2,161	23.14%
Janet Chung	1,585	16.97%
Schuyler Windham	537	5.75%

District 4	# <u>of</u> Votes	% <u>of</u> Vote
R. Brad von Gillern	4,564	52.64%
Cindy Maxwell-Ostdiek	4,106	47.36%

District 6	# <u>of</u> Votes	% <u>of</u> Vote
Incumbent Senator Machaela Cavanaugh	3,891	47.10%
Christian Mirch	3,181	38.5%
Elizabeth Hallgren	1,190	14.40%

District 8	# of Votes	% <u>of</u> Vote
Incumbent Senator Megan Hunt	4,572	62.29%
Marilyn Arant Asher	1,695	24.20%
Katie Opitz	736	10.51%

District 10	# of Votes	% <u>of</u> Vote
Incumbent Senator Wendy DeBoer	3,649	52.53%
Lou Ann Goding	3,297	47.47%

District 12	# <u>of</u> Votes	% <u>of</u> Vote
Former Senator Mery Riepe	2,809	45.56%
Robin Richards	1,213	19.68%
Haile Kucera	1,095	17.76%
Bob Borgeson	1,048	17%

District 14	# of Votes	% <u>of</u> Vote
Incumbent Senator John Arch	3,269	57.81%
Cori Villegas	1,431	25.31%
Rob Plugge	955	16.89%

District 16	# of Votes	% <u>of</u> Vote
Incumbent Senator Ben Hansen	6,455	73.99%
Connie Petersen	2,269	26.01%

District 18	# of Votes	% of Vote
Michael Young	2,189	34.12%
Christy Armendariz	2,145	33.43%
Clarice Jackson	2,082	32.45%

Two state legislators are pursuing higher office in the middle of their terms, Senator Mike Hilgers for Attorney General and Senator Mike Flood for Congressional District #1. If they are successful, expect two additional legislative appointments. The seat held by late Senator Rich Pahls will be filled in November through a process by which individuals will petition to be on the ballot, creating the potential of 16 new state senators in 2023.

District 26	# of Votes	% of Vote
Russ Barger	2,685	40.99%
George Dungan	2,393	36.53%
Larry Weixelman	778	11.88%
Bob Van Valkenburg	694	10.60%

District 28	# of Votes	% of Vote
Jane Raybould	4,573	63.95%
Roy Christensen	2,578	36.05%

District 30	# of Votes	% of Vote
Incumbent Senator Myron Dorn	8,873	100%

District 32	# of Votes	% of Vote
Incumbent Senator Tom Brandt	8.015	100%

District 34	# of Votes	% of Vote
Loren Lippincott	6,368	69.67%
Michael Reimers	2,772	30.33%

District 36	# of Votes	% of Vote
Rick Holdcroft	3,424	51.57%
Angie Lauritsen	3,216	48.43%

District 38	# of Votes	% of Vote
Incumbent Senator Dave Murman	6,866	65.97%
Tyler Cappel	3,541	34.03%

District 40	# of Votes	% of Vote
Barry DeKay	4,426	36.02%
Keith Kube	3,176	25.85%
Mark Patefield	3,063	24.93%
Robert Johnston	1,621	13.19%

District 42	# of Votes	% of Vote
Chris Bruns	4,031	45.44%
Incumbent Senator Mike Jacobson	3,885	43.79%
Brenda Fourtner	956	10.78%

District 44	# of Votes	% of Vote
Teresa Ibach	6,526	76.08%
Edward Dunn	2,052	23.92%

District 20	# of Votes	% of Vote
Stu Dornan	3,975	43.48%
John Fredrickson	3,134	34.28%
Julie Fredrickson	2,034	22.25%

District 22	# of Votes	% of Vote
Incumbent Senator Mike Moser	4,999	76.44%
Roy Zach	838	12.81%
Mike Goos	703	10.75%

District 24	# of Votes	% of Vote
Patrick Hotovy	4,640	50.08%
Jana Hughes	4,626	49.92%

District 46	# of Votes	% of Vote
Former Senator Danielle Conrad	1,497	42.89%
James Michael Bowers	1,359	38.94%
James Herrold	634	18.17%

District 48	# of Votes	% of Vote
Brian Hardin	2,638	45.17%
Don Lease II	1,366	23.39%
Scott Shaver	1,314	22.50%
Jeremiah Teeple	291	4.98%
Talon Cordle	231	3.96%