Posted June 16th, 2017 No Comments
League Honors Quandahl with GW Norris Award

The Nebraska Credit Union League (League) presented the George W. Norris Award to Director Mark Quandahl during the awards banquet of the League’s Annual Meeting and Convention.  The award was first presented in 2005 to publicly recognize outstanding state officials who demonstrate steadfast support for Nebraska’s credit unions.  Quandahl is the fourth person to receive the award.  Director Quandahl was appointed by Governor Pete Ricketts in late 2014 to serve as the director of the Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance.  Prior to his appointment, Quandahl served on the Nebraska State Board of Education, served in the Nebraska Legislature from 1999-2004 and practiced law in Omaha with the law firm of Brumbaugh & Quandahl.

In presenting him the award, League President/CEO Scott Sullivan said of Quandahl’s service as Director, “In just two years Mark has already made significant and positive impacts on the operations of Nebraska credit unions.”  He recognized his support for several key legislative bills this past session including LB 140 (Banking Act Update), LB 375 (Credit Union Act Update), LB 454 (Loan Officer License Opt-Out), LB 196 (State CU Parity with FCU’s), and LB 582 (Community FOM).  He went on to recognize his support for credit unions while he served in the State Legislature as Chairman of the Banking Committee.  While practicing law, Quandahl assisted credit unions particularly in the areas of collections and bankruptcy.

Previous recipients of the award include Senator Pam Redfield (2005), Senator Mark Christensen (2009), and Senator Amanda McGill (2013).


Pictured (Left to right): Brandon Luetkenhaus, GA League;
Scott Sullivan, CEO League; NE Dept. of Banking & Finance Director Mark Quandahl.

Leave a Comment


Events Calendar
June Edition


The mission of the Nebraska Credit Union League & Affiliates is to protect, promote and perpetuate the credit union movement in Nebraska.
What's Inside